Collin County Clerk's Office
Collin County Administration Building
2300 Bloomdale Rd., Suite 2106
McKinney, Texas 75071
972-424-1460 ext. 4185 (Metro)
Collin County Clerk's Office - Plano
900 E. Park, Suite 140-C
Plano, Texas 75074
972-424-1460 ext. 3025 (Metro)
Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
NOTICE: Office Closure for Christmas 2014
The offices of the County Clerk will be closed December 24-25, 2014, and January 1, 2015.
Our office will close at 4:00 p.m. on December 23 and 31, 2014.
I wish you and yours a Happy and Safe Holiday!
Collin County Clerk
NOTICE - DELAYED OPENING: The Plano office of the County Clerk will open at 9:00 a.m. on Friday, January 2, 2015.
NOTICE: Fee Changes Effective January 1, 2014
Per Texas Local Government Code 118.011(a); 118-0216 and 118.025, effective January 1, 2014, fees will increase for
Land Recordings and
Vital Statistics, including the fees for Assumed Names, Marks and Brands and Marriage Licenses.
NOTICE: Effective September 1, 2013, New Laws Effecting Marriage Licenses:
Per Senate Bill 1317, Section 2.201, Expiration of License: If a marriage ceremony has not been conducted before the 90th day after the date the license is issued, the marriage license expires.
Per Senate Bill 1317, Section 2.202, Family Code is amended as follows: (a) the following persons are authorized to conduct a marriage ceremony: a retired judge of a municipal court and a retired judge or magistrate of a federal court of this state.
NOTICE: Effective June 1, 2013, credit card payments, along with cash payments, will be accepted for Marriage Licenses.
The following is the list of requirements for obtaining a marriage license in the state of Texas:
Both persons must be present and provide:
- Valid government issued photo ID. Acceptable forms of ID include: drivers license, passport, military ID or an identification card issued by Texas or another state, the United States or a foreign government.
- Social Security number. You are not required to show your social security card.
PLEASE NOTE: The name listed on your marriage license MUST match the name on your identification.
USING MAIDEN NAME ON MARRIAGE LICENSE
If you have been divorced and retained your maiden name in the divorce, but your identification has your married name, you must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree that states your name was changed back to your maiden name.
WHERE DO I GO TO GET MY MARRIAGE LICENSE?
The County Clerk provides two locations at which you can obtain your marriage license:
2300 Bloomdale Road
McKinney TX 75071
900 E. Park Blvd.
Plano, TX 75074
IF PREVIOUSLY MARRIED
If your divorce was finalized within the last 30 days, you must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree stating the judge has waived the 30-day waiting period. If you do not have that waiver, you will have to wait 30 days before you can apply for another marriage license. If you have any questions, please call 972-548-4185.
Both parties must appear before the clerk and provide their valid government issued photo ID and their social security number (your social security card is not required).
There are no blood test requirements.
MARRIAGE LICENSE FEES
The cost of your license will vary depending on whether you have particpated in a state approved premarital training program (Texas Family Code Chapter 2 §2.013). The premarital course is an eight (8) hour training both you and your spouse-to-be may attend to learn conflict management, communication skills and key elements for building a healthy marriage.
Once the course has been completed you will receive a certificate of completion which will include the name of the course, the name of the provider and the date the course was completed. The certificate will be valid for one (1) year. Certificate MUST be presented at the time of application. Refunds will not be issued for certificates brought in after application is completed.Upon receipt of the certificate, the County Clerk will deduct $60.00 from the license fee and waive the state required 72-hour waiting period. For more information on participating in the pre-marital training course please visit the
Twogether In Texas website.
Marriage License without the certificate - $77.00 (No checks accepted)
Marriage License with the certificate - $17.00 (No checks accepted)
Informal Marriage License - $34.00 (No checks accepted)
PLEASE NOTE: A convenience fee will be charged for all credit/debit card transactions.
WAITING PERIOD AND EXPIRATION OF LICENSE
Pursuant to Texas Family Code,
Chapter 2 Sec. 2.204 of the Texas Family Code, the marriage ceremony may not take place during a 72 hour period immediately following the issuance of the marriage license unless: (a) an applicant is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States and is on active duty, (b) an applicant obtains a waiver from District Court, or (c) an applicant completes a premarital education course and provides the County Clerk with the completion certificate.
Effective September 1, 2013, Per Senate Bill 1317, Section 2.201, Expiration of License: If a marriage ceremony has not been conducted before the 90th day after the date the license is issued, the marriage license expires.
MARRIAGE OF PERSONS UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE
Pursuant to Texas Family Code Chapter 2 §2.101 the County Clerk may not issue a marriage license to persons under the age of 18 without the consent of an adult. To obtain a marriage license as a minor the requirements are as follows:
- The minor must provide a Certified Copy of his/her Birth Certificate
- The minor must provide his/her Social Security Card
- The parent (s) or guardian of the minor must be present
- The parent (s) or guardian must complete an
Affidavit of Consent of Parent or Guardian for The Marriage of a Minor
- The affidavit must be signed in the presence of the County Clerk or Deputy
- Proof of parentage or guardianship must be provided to the County Clerk or Deputy
- Parent or guardian must provide a valid government issued photo ID
IMPORTANT NOTICE: THE AFFIDAVIT OF CONSENT MUST BE SIGNED IN FRONT OF THE COUNTY CLERK OR DEPUTY. A NOTARIZED AFFIDAVIT WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.
PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO CONDUCT CEREMONY
Licensed or ordained Christian Ministers and Priests, Jewish Rabbis, or persons who are officers of religious organizations; and who are duly authorized by the organization to conduct marriage ceremonies; Justices of the Supreme Court, Judges of the Court of Criminal Appeals, Justices of the Courts of Civil Appeals, Judges of the District, County and Probate Courts, Judges of the County Courts at Law, Courts of Domestic Relations and Juvenile Courts, Justices of the Peace, Retired Judge of a Municipal Court and Judges and Retired Judges or Magistrates of the Federal Courts of this State.
If interested in having a Justice of the Peace conduct your wedding ceremony, contact the
Justice of the Peace for more information.
Prior to September 1, 2013, the license is only valid for 30 days within the State of Texas from date of issuance.
Effective September 1, 2013, the license is only valid for 90 days within the State of Texas from date of issuance.
Resources & Links
Resources & Links